In Alberta, Apprenticeship and Industry Training (AIT) runs the Red Seal exam, and almost everything happens in a MyTradesecrets account. You cannot book the exam as a stand-alone step. Apprentices in Red Seal trades get the opportunity to write after they complete all requirements for Alberta journeyperson certification, and their instructors give the details during the final period of classroom instruction. Certified Alberta journeypersons submit a $150 Red Seal application. Experienced workers, and holders of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta, apply to a Trades Qualifier program: $450 for Work Experience or $150 for Recognized Credential, first theory attempt included. AIT's Trades Qualifier and Red Seal pages say AIT schedules the exam once your application is approved, while its booking page lists Red Seal exams and Trades Qualifier exams among those you can book yourself in MyTradesecrets, within 21 days of approval and for a date 14 to 90 days after approval. The Recognized Credential page calls that theory exam the Red Seal exam, and the Work Experience pages do not, so confirm it with AIT. You write in person at one of 12 AIT offices, and the pass mark is 70%. After a second fail, a mark of 60% to 69% and an approved Training Plan decide whether you get a third attempt.
| Who runs it | Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training (AIT), part of the Government of Alberta, through the Tradesecrets website and your MyTradesecrets account. |
|---|---|
| Exam fee | No stand-alone exam fee. Certified journeypersons pay a $150 Red Seal application. Trades Qualifier applicants pay $150 (Recognized Credential) or $450 (Work Experience), and the first theory attempt is included. Tax status is not stated. |
| How you book | Through an approved MyTradesecrets application. AIT's Trades Qualifier and Red Seal pages say AIT schedules the exam for you, while its booking page lists Red Seal and Trades Qualifier exams among those you can book yourself, within 21 days of approval and for a date 14 to 90 days after approval. Apprentices get details from their instructors. |
| Where you write | In person at an AIT office. There are 12, and Edmonton is the default in the booking dropdown. |
| Pass mark | 70%, for theory exams and practical exams. |
| If you fail | Journeypersons: the Red Seal application is cancelled and you reapply with the fee. Trades Qualifiers: a paid second attempt, then a third only if you scored 60% to 69% and AIT approves a Training Plan. |
| Results | Under Marks in MyTradesecrets, with a mark for each section. No release time is published for theory exams. |
| Accommodations | Requested in person at an AIT office, with documentation issued within the past five years, at least three weeks before the exam. |
01Who can write the Red Seal exam in Alberta?
Three groups write the Red Seal exam in Alberta, and each reaches it a different way.
Registered apprentices. AIT's Red Seal Endorsement page says: "Alberta Apprentices in Red Seal trades have the opportunity to write the Red Seal exam after they complete all requirements for Alberta journeyperson certification. Instructors will provide details during the final period of classroom instruction."
Certified Alberta journeypersons. If you already hold an Alberta journeyperson certificate, Qualification Certificate or Occupational Certificate without the endorsement, the same page says "you can apply to write the Red Seal exam at any time afterward." Section 02 covers that application.
Trades Qualifiers. This is Alberta's name for the challenge route, and it has two programs. The Work Experience program is for experienced workers. To be eligible you must "be a Canadian citizen, permanent resident, or eligible Foreign National," "have the minimum required work experience months and hours in the trade you are applying for (listed in Trade Profile)," and "be prepared to live and work in Alberta with an eligible Alberta employer." Those months and hours "are calculated on full-time (more than 30 hours per week) employment in the trade." There is no single Alberta hours figure; it is set trade by trade in each Trade Profile.
The Recognized Credential program is for people who hold "a recognized trade certificate from outside of Alberta, in a Red Seal Trade," and AIT's description of it is short: "We'll verify your certificate, and then you'll be able to schedule and write your Red Seal exam."
Both programs end in a written test. The Trades Qualifier Exams page says: "All Trades Qualifier candidates must pass a theory exam. The minimum pass mark is 70%." The Recognized Credential page names that exam as the Red Seal exam. The Work Experience pages we read call it a theory exam without saying it is the Red Seal exam, so confirm that with AIT when you apply. For how the challenge route works across Canada, see our guide on challenging the Red Seal exam without an apprenticeship.
02How to apply and book the exam
Alberta does not let you book the Red Seal exam as a stand-alone step. You first need an approved application in MyTradesecrets, the AIT portal you sign into with your Alberta.ca Account.
- Set up your accounts. To apply you need "An Alberta.ca Account (basic or verified account accepted)" and "An Alberta Student Number (first-time applicants only)."
- Submit the application that fits you, and pay. Certified journeypersons click Apply Now, select their trade, choose the Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program option, then "Complete, pay for, and submit your application." Work Experience applicants apply online with employer contacts and proof of their work history, such as employer letters, Records of Employment, T4s and pay stubs, or contracts and invoices if self-employed; documents that are not in English need a recognized translator. Then: "Pay the non-refundable $450 (Canadian) application fee." Recognized Credential applicants: "Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee."
- Wait for approval. For the Work Experience program, "Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks. If your work experience is from outside of Canada, it may take longer." Depending on the trade, that program also includes a competency verification, such as a practical exam or an Employer Declaration Letter, as well as the theory exam. The pages we read give no processing time for the other two applications.
- Get scheduled, or book the exam yourself. AIT's pages describe two models. The Red Seal Endorsement page says: "If approved, your Red Seal exam will be requested and scheduled at your nearest Apprenticeship and Industry Training Office." The Trades Qualifier Exams page says: "Once your application is approved, AIT will request and schedule your theory exam," with the details under the Exam tab, "typically posted 3-4 weeks before the scheduled exam date." The booking page instead lists Red Seal exams and Trades Qualifier exams among the exams that can be booked online through MyTradesecrets. After approval you are either scheduled by AIT or sent an email telling you to book.
- If you self-book, watch the clock. The booking page sets three dates, all counted from approval: "Deadline to book: 21 days after approval," "Earliest exam date: 14 days after approval" and "Latest exam date: 90 days after approval." If you do not book within the 21 days, the exam request is cancelled. You choose where to write: "Select the AIT Office where you would like to write the exam from the dropdown list (Edmonton is the default)."
Rescheduling. "You may reschedule your exam online up to 2 times, until 12 hours before the exam begins." For Trades Qualifier exams, requests go to AIT.Assessments@gov.ab.ca: "You may reschedule a maximum of two times. Failing to attend your exam twice without notice will result in your Trades Qualifier application being cancelled." AIT's policy on rescheduling and failing to attend allows a first move at no charge, and a no-show counts toward the limit: "Once the above limits are reached, the assessment request will be automatically cancelled and the fee forfeited." The policy's wording on paying again is about apprentices, who must then "pay the examination fee in order for the assessment to be scheduled again."
The 18-month limit. Trades Qualifier candidates must complete all requirements, theory exam included, "within 18 months of your application approval date." Foreign nationals who apply from abroad are not scheduled right away: the theory exam "will be scheduled once you arrive in Alberta," and they need to update their address in MyTradesecrets when they do.
03What the exam costs
Alberta has no stand-alone Red Seal exam fee. You pay for an application, and the exam comes with it: "Your first attempt at the theory exam is included in your application fee." All amounts below are as published on AIT's Tradesecrets pages on September 17, 2026, in Canadian dollars. No page states whether tax is added, and the MyTradesecrets fee list shows no date.
| Item | Fee |
|---|---|
| Red Seal Application, for certified journeypersons adding the endorsement | $150 |
| Trades Qualifier, Recognized Credential application (first theory attempt included) | $150, non-refundable |
| Trades Qualifier, Work Experience application (first theory attempt included) | $450, non-refundable |
| Theory exam rewrite, second attempt, Recognized Credential program | $50 |
| Theory exam rewrite, Work Experience program | A rewrite fee applies; amount not published |
| Red Seal exam after a fail, certified journeypersons | A new Red Seal Application, $150 |
| Practical exam, in trades that have one | Set by trade. Examples: Hairstylist $75.00, Machinist $115.00, Carpenter $205.00, Insulator $475.00 |
| Apprentice challenge exam, to skip a period of classroom instruction | $150 |
| Supplemental period exam for apprentices who pass the course but fail the period exam | Free |
| Replace a certificate | $50 to $60 |
Check which Trades Qualifier program you belong in before you pay. The fee list shows them as one line: "Trades Qualifier Program | $150 to $450." Practical exam fees are on top, and AIT's list of trades with practical exams carries the note "Fees are subject to change."
How to pay. Online by VISA, Mastercard, AMEX, Visa Debit or Debit Mastercard, or in person: "Paying by credit card and debit card is accepted at any of the 12 AIT offices in Alberta." And: "Money orders and personal cheques are not accepted."
04Exam day: format, language, what to bring
Format. Alberta's pages do not state how long the exam is or how many questions it has. The Red Seal Program's exam preparation guide does: "The Red Seal Exam has a pass mark of 70%. The writing time is four hours." It adds that "The format of the questions is multiple-choice. Each question is worth one mark." Alberta confirms the pass mark itself: "The minimum pass mark is 70%," and "The minimum pass mark is also 70% for a practical exam." Our guides cover the question count for each trade and what 70% means in marks.
What to bring. AIT's exams page puts it in one line: "Bring a physical ID and a standard HB pencil." The What to Bring page defines the ID as "A physical ID, such as: a government issued photo ID (i.e. valid drivers license or passport), or a laminated training provider ID card with photo." The allowed items are short: an HB pencil, an eraser, and a "Water bottle (in a closable, clear container)."
What is supplied, and what you cannot bring. AIT supplies a calculator to every exam candidate, either a Casio FX-260 or a Sharp EL-520X. Personal calculators are not allowed. The prohibited list includes "ANY electronic device, such as smart phones, laptops, tablets, or anything with a computer chip," along with "Pens," "Textbooks, notebooks, or any other written material," bags, outerwear and helmets. Our exam day guide covers the Red Seal Program's own exam room rules.
Language. "Most exams are in English only, except Red Seal exams (available in English or French)." An interpreter or reader is allowed only with AIT's approval in advance, at your own cost, and "They cannot have knowledge of your trade (or a related one)."
05How you get your results
Results are posted in MyTradesecrets. The MyTradesecrets FAQ answers it directly: "What were my marks from the last exam? Click on Marks and look at the bottom of the page." And: "Click on the Show Breakdown button to see the mark for each section." Trades Qualifier candidates also receive an exam result letter, and its date matters, because the deadline to submit a Training Plan runs from "the date on your exam result letter."
AIT publishes no general release time for theory or Red Seal exam results. The only official timing statement we found is in a Hairstylist practical examination notice dated July 4, 2024: "Examination results are typically issued no later than 14 days after the examination," and "Examination results are not provided at the examination session." That notice covers a practical exam in one trade, so do not treat 14 days as a rule for your theory exam.
06If you do not pass
Certified journeypersons. A fail ends the application. From the Red Seal Endorsement page: "If you are unsuccessful in your Red Seal exam, your application will be cancelled and you will need to submit another Interprovincial Red Seal Application, with applicable fee." The fee list prices that application at $150. Once you have two or more attempts behind you, there is a study requirement as well: "If you have already attempted the Red Seal exam two or more times, you are required to provide at least 40 hours of additional study or upgrading."
Trades Qualifiers. You get up to three attempts on one application, and the third is conditional.
- First fail. The Trades Qualifier Exams page says only that "A new exam rewrite fee will be required," with no amount. The one published amount sits on the Recognized Credential page and covers that program: "If you fail an exam (pass mark is 70%), you may pay a $50 rewrite fee for a second attempt."
- Second fail, mark of 60% to 69%. "If your exam mark is between 60% - 69%, you may submit a Training Plan for review by AIT within 30 days of the date on your exam result letter." The plan must also reach AIT "at least 90 days prior to the 18-month deadline."
- Second fail, mark below 60%. There is no third attempt. At that point "your Trades Qualifier application will be cancelled."
- Third fail. "If you don't pass your third exam attempt: Your Trades Qualifier application will be cancelled. To continue, you must submit a new application with fees and a Training Plan."
The AIT Training Plan. AIT's Training Plan page requires a plan when "you have had two or more unsuccessful attempts at the same eligible exam" and "you earned a mark of 60% or higher on at least one attempt." It applies to Trades Qualifier exams, apprentice challenge exams and Red Seal exams for certified journeypersons. The plan has to show "at least 40 hours of study time," through self-study modules or mentoring by a journeyperson, with start and end dates. Approval is not automatic: "An additional exam attempt is not guaranteed and will be based on the quality of your training plan."
Apprentices. The Types of Exams page offers "A free rewrite if you pass your course but fail the period exam," and after two attempts you repeat the period of classroom instruction or request an exam challenge. A challenge exam allows a third attempt only with a mark of 60% or higher on an earlier attempt and a completed Training Plan, and after a third fail no further challenges are approved.
Waiting period. No official Alberta page states a fixed wait between attempts. The practical limits are the booking rules, since a self-booked exam can be no earlier than 14 days after approval, and the Trades Qualifier 18-month deadline. Our guide on how to study for the Red Seal exam builds a plan from the section breakdown.
07Accommodations
Alberta handles accommodations in person, and it needs lead time. AIT's Exam Accommodations page gives these examples of what can be arranged: "a scribe to write your answers," "an audio version or person to read the exam questions to you," "extra time," "a private room" and "a sign language interpreter." A language interpreter is also listed, for Trades Qualifier candidates only.
Documentation. "You will be required to bring documentation of your disability from a qualified assessor (e.g. doctor, psychologist, ophthalmologist, etc.) to an AIT Office in person." The documentation "must be issued within the past five years." At the office you complete "a Disclosure to Consent form and an Accommodation form (provided in person at the office)." Your medical documents are returned to you, and they must not be uploaded to MyTradesecrets.
Lead time. "AIT offices require a minimum of three weeks to prepare accommodations for an exam." Accommodated exams are also outside the self-booking system. AIT gives you the date and time, so go to the office early. The Red Seal Program gives every candidate the same advice: "Keep in mind that the request for accommodation has to be made well in advance."
08Certificate and Red Seal endorsement
AIT's Become Certified page defines the endorsement this way: "A Red Seal endorsement is a seal on your provincial or territorial trade certificate." The Red Seal Program's own description matches: "Tradespersons who have successfully passed the Red Seal examination receive a Red Seal endorsement on their provincial/territorial trade certificate."
Journeypersons and Qualification Certificate holders add the endorsement through the $150 Red Seal Application. For Trades Qualifiers in the Recognized Credential program: "If you complete all Trades Qualifier - Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you."
You can check your status in MyTradesecrets: "Once your status is Complete - Certified, you will be able to view your certificate information by clicking on the blue View certifications button." A replacement certificate costs $50 to $60. No expiry or renewal rule appears on official pages.
09Contact and exam locations
AIT Info Line. Toll-free 1-800-248-4823 in North America, 1-403-476-9757 for international callers, fax 780-422-3734. Hours are 8:15 am to 4:30 pm, Monday to Friday, closed on statutory holidays. The Edmonton office page lists a separate number for callers outside North America, 780-644-9870. General questions go through the Tradesecrets contact form. To reschedule a Trades Qualifier exam, email AIT.Assessments@gov.ab.ca.
Exam locations. Exams are written at AIT offices, and card payments are accepted at all 12:
- Bonnyville, Calgary, Edmonton, Fort McMurray, Grande Prairie, Hinton
- Lethbridge, Medicine Hat, Peace River, Red Deer, Slave Lake, Vermilion
Street addresses and direct phone numbers sit behind a dropdown on the Tradesecrets offices page. Alberta also appears in the Red Seal Program's directory of provincial and territorial authorities.
10What Alberta does not publish
We looked for each of these on Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training's pages and the Red Seal Program's pages on September 17, 2026 and could not find them stated. Rather than guess, we list them, so you know what to ask the office directly.
- How long theory or Red Seal exam results take. No Tradesecrets page states a release time; the 14-day figure comes only from a Hairstylist practical exam notice.
- The rewrite fee for the Trades Qualifier Work Experience program and for a second attempt at an apprentice challenge exam. The pages say a rewrite fee applies, but only the Recognized Credential page gives an amount, $50.
- A mandatory waiting period between attempts. None is published, and Alberta's historical waiting-period rule could not be found on a current official page.
- The length of the exam and the number of questions. Alberta does not state them; the Red Seal Program's national figures are four hours and multiple-choice questions.
- Whether tax is added to the fees. No page states the tax treatment, and the fee list shows no date.
- Whether an apprentice's final period exam is itself the Red Seal exam or a separate sitting. The Red Seal page says only that apprentices have the opportunity to write after completing requirements and that instructors give details.
- Whether the Trades Qualifier Work Experience theory exam is the Red Seal exam. Only the Recognized Credential page names the exam as the Red Seal exam.
- Any expiry or renewal rule for an Alberta journeyperson certificate or the Red Seal endorsement.
- Street addresses and phone numbers for all 12 AIT offices in one place. The office page is a dropdown, and only Edmonton details were captured.
- A single list of the work experience hours needed for the Trades Qualifier Work Experience program. The hours are trade-specific and sit in each Trade Profile.
11Sources
- Tradesecrets: Red Seal Endorsement — when apprentices write, how certified journeypersons apply in MyTradesecrets, AIT scheduling at the nearest office, cancellation of the application after a fail, the 40 hours of study after two or more attempts.
- Tradesecrets: Trades Qualifier Exams — AIT scheduling of the theory exam, the 3-4 week notice under the Exam tab, first attempt included in the application fee, the 70% pass mark, the rewrite ladder and the 60% to 69% Training Plan rule, reschedule limits, the 18-month limit, the rescheduling email, exam language.
- Tradesecrets: Trades Qualifier, Work Experience program — eligibility, including work experience months and hours listed in each Trade Profile.
- Tradesecrets: Trades Qualifier, Work Experience program details — the $450 non-refundable application fee, supporting documents, the 4 to 6 week processing time, competency verification.
- Tradesecrets: Trades Qualifier, Recognized Credential program details — the $150 non-refundable application fee, the $50 rewrite fee for a second attempt, certificate and wallet card by mail.
- Tradesecrets: Trades with Practical Exams and Fees — practical exam fees by trade; fees subject to change.
- Tradesecrets: MyTradesecrets, Apply Online — the fee list ($150 Red Seal Application, $150 to $450 Trades Qualifier Program, $50 to $60 replacement certificate), account requirements, payment methods, the 12 AIT offices.
- Tradesecrets: MyTradesecrets — what the portal is.
- Tradesecrets: How to book an exam through MyTradesecrets — which exams can be booked online, the 21-day, 14-day and 90-day rules, choosing an AIT office, two online reschedules up to 12 hours before, accommodated exams scheduled by AIT.
- Tradesecrets: Exams — bring a physical ID and an HB pencil.
- Tradesecrets: What to Bring — accepted ID, allowed items, supplied calculators, prohibited items, interpreter and reader conditions.
- Tradesecrets: Types of Exams — period exams, the free supplemental rewrite, the two-attempt limit on period exams.
- Tradesecrets: Challenge Exams for Registered Apprentices — the $150 challenge fee, the 70% pass mark, the second-fail and third-fail rules.
- Tradesecrets: AIT Training Plan — when a Training Plan is required, the 40 hours of study time, no guarantee of another attempt.
- Tradesecrets: Exam Accommodations — accommodation examples, in-person documentation issued within five years, the forms, the three-week minimum.
- Tradesecrets: Limits on Rescheduling or Failing to Attend an Assessment Policy — first move at no charge, automatic cancellation and forfeited fee once the limits are reached, the apprentice paying the examination fee again.
- Tradesecrets: MyTradesecrets FAQ — where marks and the section breakdown appear.
- Tradesecrets: Hairstylist Practical Examinations Notice (July 4, 2024, PDF) — the only official results-timing statement found; it covers a practical exam in one trade.
- Tradesecrets: Become Certified — the definition of a Red Seal endorsement.
- Tradesecrets: Contact us, offices — Info Line hours and the Edmonton office number for callers outside North America.
- Tradesecrets: Contact Client Services — the web contact form for general inquiries.
- Alberta.ca: Become an apprentice in Alberta — AIT toll-free, international and fax numbers.
- Red Seal Program: Exam Preparation Guide — the national 70% pass mark, four-hour writing time and multiple-choice format.
- Red Seal Program: Register for your Red Seal Examination — accommodation requests must be made well in advance.
- Red Seal Program: About the program — the endorsement is placed on the provincial or territorial trade certificate after passing.
- Red Seal Program: Provincial and Territorial Authorities — the directory of apprenticeship and certification authorities.
Every figure above was read on an official page on September 17, 2026. Fees and rules change; the office's own pages are the final word, and if you find one of ours out of date, tell us.
12Other provinces and territories
Eligibility, fees and rewrite rules are set by each province and territory, not by the Red Seal Program. The same guide for the others:
Related: all guides · challenging the exam without an apprenticeship · exam day: what to expect · the 70% pass mark · if you fail: rewrite rules compared
13Practice for this exam
The exam you write in Alberta is the same Red Seal exam written everywhere else in Canada, built from the trade's published breakdown and marked to the same 70%. TicketPrep practice tests are weighted to that breakdown for each trade, every answer is explained, and the first test is free.
Ten free questions per trade, no account: free practice questions. How our questions are written and checked: how our questions are made.